[RippingGuide] Sid-Mon (R. V. Vliet, 1988)

Discussion about Amiga / C64 / Demoscene music and the ExoticA music archive. Favourite music, new rips, musicians, demo sounds, audio software. It's all welcome here.

Moderators: XtC, BuZz

JaeMa

[RippingGuide] Sid-Mon (R. V. Vliet, 1988)

Post by JaeMa »

So, this is my first attempt to lay open one of my module ripping methods for a certrain module format. If the admin decides to open up an extra subforum for this, I hope this thread can be moved properly.

Please feel free to discuss these methods in order to improve them and fix bugs. Also post your own methods for yet undiscussed formats!

My (our) aim is to provide information for people who are creating or want to improve XFR clients or other pieces of software. If you improve the method or fix a bug while implementing it as an XFR client or in another piece of software, please mention it here!

The reason for posting a method for Sid-Mon (version 1) is that the actual XFR client shows this:
"some different kinds are partially supported, no size calculation, player can be patched to work if it does not work"

Here we've got size calculation but no possible patch (can somebody post the method used in the client and what this patch does / why it's needed). And as far as I remember, it worked well for all modules which can be found at Exotica.

General [RippingGuide] conventions (feel free to request changes/additions):
- X always is a placeholder for the memory address which is tested for being a module start address
- byte[x], word[x], long[x] respectively stand for "byte/word/long located at address x (motorola format)
- every forumula is enclosed by "(" and ")"
- for detection and sizecalc difficulties these "descriptions" are used (in correct order): "very easy", "easy", "tricky", "difficult", "hard", "mindbombing"

Code: Select all

FORMAT
------

Name ........... Sid-Mon
Inventor ....... R. V. Vliet
Year ........... 1988
Method Version . 1.00