Sensible World Of Soccer and WinUAE

Discussion about Amiga games and gaming. However, please do not post requests for copyrighted software.

Moderators: XtC, BuZz

Post Reply
Rich_Pags
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 9:46 pm

Sensible World Of Soccer and WinUAE

Post by Rich_Pags » Tue Sep 13, 2005 4:00 am

hey

Iv been playing Sensible World Of Soccer on my Amiga 500 for years and love the game.

to my disapointment the game dosnt load anymore.

I was wondering if its possible to get it running again on my Amiga 500 or has any1 used WinUAE to run it?

i like to use a joystick so would rather play it on the amiga

thanks

User avatar
XtC
Posts: 628
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 6:26 pm
Location: Rossendale, England
Contact:

Post by XtC » Tue Sep 13, 2005 12:16 pm

Ey up!

The game does work on WinUAE, info found here.

Unfortunately, the publisher hasn't given permission for the game to be freely distributed, yet.
Cheers!

Rich_Pags
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 9:46 pm

Post by Rich_Pags » Tue Sep 13, 2005 12:20 pm

cool

so iam able to play it on my pc?

User avatar
XtC
Posts: 628
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 6:26 pm
Location: Rossendale, England
Contact:

Post by XtC » Tue Sep 13, 2005 12:35 pm

Ey up!
Rich_Pags wrote:so iam able to play it on my pc?
Through emulation by WinUAE, yes.
Cheers!

Rich_Pags
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 9:46 pm

Post by Rich_Pags » Tue Sep 13, 2005 10:47 pm

thanks ill give that a go and get back to u if i have any problems running it

Iv downloaded winUAE from http://www.emuasylum.com/index.php?page ... stem=Amiga

also the kickstarts from there

and iv downloaded the game from here

http://www.rom-world.com/dl.php?name=Amiga&letter=S

lets hope i get it running

let me know if i need any other info it get it workin

Rich_Pags
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 9:46 pm

Post by Rich_Pags » Wed Sep 14, 2005 10:07 am

hey

I installed WinUAE and i put in the kickstarts fine. I put in both game disks and the game loads but pretty slow.

iam gonna use the keyboard. "Enter" works fine untill i get to the start match screen. Enter dosnt work any more.

u said u played this SWOS with WinUAE is that right?

i was wondering if u could give me a hand with controls and setting it up so it plays perfect.

thanks

User avatar
XtC
Posts: 628
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2002 6:26 pm
Location: Rossendale, England
Contact:

Post by XtC » Thu Sep 15, 2005 4:38 pm

Ey up!

WinUAE needs fine tuning to get the best performance out of it. Configuring WinUAE is possibly off-topic as far as ExoticA in concerened, but I can offer some advice...
Rich_Pags wrote:I put in both game disks and the game loads but pretty slow.
You can configure the disk emulation speed, this should help speed up loading.
Rich_Pags wrote:iam gonna use the keyboard. "Enter" works fine untill i get to the start match screen. Enter dosnt work any more.
There are several sets of keys you can use instead of a joystick. If one set uses the Enter key as a fire or directional button, then it will stop emulating an Amiga's Enter key.
Rich_Pags wrote:u said u played this SWOS with WinUAE is that right?
No. I just provided a link that said it works with WinUAE.
Rich_Pags wrote:i was wondering if u could give me a hand with controls and setting it up so it plays perfect.
It's all trial and error for each PC. You can chage the screen size, audio sample rate and program priority to try and gain some speed, but it also relies heavily on your CPU.

Trial and error - it's part of the fun! :wink:
Cheers!

Post Reply